WGRF Welcomes Five New Directors at AGM

The Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF) welcomed five new directors at its Annual Meeting in Winnipeg on March 8th. Graeme Manness of Domain MB replaced Gerrid Gust as the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association nominee. Glenn Tait of North Battleford SK replaced Bill Gehl as the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission nominee. Robert Misko of Roblin MB replaced Ray Askin as the Manitoba Wheat & Barley Growers Association nominee. Terry Young of Lacombe AB replaced Kevin Auch as the Alberta Wheat Commission nominee. Corey Loessin of Radisson SK replaced D’Arcy Hilgartner as the Western Pulse Growers nominee. Dave Sefton of Broadview Saskatchewan was re-elected as Chair and Dr. Keith Degenhardt of Hughenden, Alberta was re-elected as Vice-Chair.

“2015 was a remarkable year for WGRF,” said Dave Sefton Board Chair. “Last year WGRF invested $19.6 million into variety development and field crop research.  We are currently managing over 245 research commitments including core program funding for wheat and barley variety development as well as singular projects from the Endowment Fund. I would like to express my appreciation to the retiring Directors for their commitment to WGRF and dedication to agriculture research.”

“WGRF has experienced a lot of growth, over the past few years,” said Garth Patterson, WGRF Executive Director. “WGRF’s singular focus on funding crop research brings many diverse farm groups together to collaborate for the benefit of western Canadian farmers. WGRF is in an excellent position to continue this success for years to come.”

2016 WGRF Board of Directors

Dave Sefton, WGRF Chair, Broadview, SK 
Dr. Keith Degenhardt, WGRF Vice-Chair, Hughenden, AB
Bob Anderson, Dugald, MB
Corey Loessin, Radisson, SK,
Don Dewar, Dauphin, MB
Doyle Wiebe, Langham, SK
Dale Hicks, Outlook, SK
Glenn Tait, North Battleford, SK
Graeme Manness, Domain, MB
Jason Skotheim, Spruce Home, SK
Jason Lenz, Bentley, AB
Joe RennickMilestone, SK

Malcolm Odermatt, Fort St John, BC 
Mel SticklandRed Deer, AB
Robert Misko, Roblin, MB
Stewart Wells, Swift Current, SK
Terry Young, Lacome, AB
Todd LewisRegina, SK

WGRF Membership Organizations

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan
Alberta Barley Commission
Alberta Federation of Agriculture
Alberta Wheat Commission
BC Grain Producers Association
Canadian Canola Growers Association
Canadian Seed Growers Association
Keystone Agricultural Producers
Manitoba Wheat & Barley Growers Association
National Farmers Union
Prairie Oat Producers Association
Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission
Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission
Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
Western Barley Growers Association
Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association
Western Pulse Growers    
Winter Cereals Canada