The Western Canadian Deduction (WCD) ended on July 31, 2017 with a smooth transition to the check-offs collected by wheat commissions/associations. WGRF remains involved in wheat variety development through a number of partnerships and agreements with university crop development centres and Government research facilities. WGRF is investing the remaining funds that were collected through the western Canadian wheat check-off and ongoing royalty funds into wheat variety development.

For more information on the Canadian National Wheat Cluster please visit