WGRF Welcomes New Members at Annual Meeting

As part of its growth plan, the Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF) welcomed four new members during its Annual Meeting in Winnipeg on March 5th. Dave Sefton, Board Chair says “WGRF is pleased that the following organizations are supporting WGRF by becoming members of the Foundation:

  • Alberta Barley Commission
  • Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association
  • Saskatchewan Barley Development Commissions
  • Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission

Dave Sefton of Broadview Saskatchewan was re-elected as Chair of the Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF). Dr. Keith Degenhardt of Hughenden, Alberta was re-elected as Vice-Chair. “In the past year WGRF has strengthened relationships with our member organizations and research partners, updated our bylaws, and continued to increase research investments,” said Dave Sefton. In 2013, WGRF invested over $7.4 Million into breeding and field crop research. “I am honored to have been elected for another year as the WGRF Board Chair. I believe research is of great importance to our industry and 2014 will see WGRF continue to increase its role as a leading funder of agriculture research in western Canada,” added Sefton.

The 2014 WGRF Board of Directors are:

Dave Sefton, Chair, Broadview, SK – Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission

Dr. Keith Degenhardt, Vice-Chair, Hughenden, AB – Wild Rose Agricultural Producers

Bill Gehl, Regina, SK – Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission

Bob Anderson, Dugald, MB – Prairie Oat Growers Association

D’Arcy Hilgartner, Camrose, AB – Western Pulse Growers Association

Don Dewar, Dauphin, MB – Keystone Agricultural Producers

Doyle Weibe, Langham, SK – Canadian Canola Growers Association

Garth Butcher, Birtle, MB – Western Winter Cereal Producers

Gerrid Gust, Davidson, SK – Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association

Jason Skotheim, Spruce Home, SK – Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission 

Joe Rennick, Milestone, SK – Canadian Seed Growers Association

Kevin Auch, Carmangay, AB – Alberta Wheat Commission

Martin Moore, Fort St. John, BC – BC Grain Producers Association

Mel Stickland, Red Deer, AB – Western Barley Growers Association

Ray Askin, Portage, MB – Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association

Stewart Wells, Swift Current, SK -National Farmers Union

Todd Lewis, Regina, SK – Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan

To Be Determined – Alberta Barley Commission