WGRF Elects 2013 Board Chair

Dave Sefton of Broadview Saskatchewan was elected for a second year as Chair of the Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF) at its Board meeting in Saskatoon on March 7, 2013. Dr. Keith Degenhardt of Hughenden, Alberta was elected as Vice-Chair. Others elected to the WGRF Executive were Gerrid Gust of Davidson, Saskatchewan, Mel Stickland of Red Deer, Alberta and Garth Butcher of Birtle, Manitoba.

“Our role at WGRF as Board members is to invest private producer dollars into crop research that will ultimately benefit their farms” says Sefton. “In 2012, WGRF invested over $7.4 Million into breeding and crop research that we are confident will benefit western Canadian producers. I am honored to have been elected for a second year as the WGRF Board Chair. 2013 will see WGRF continue to increase its research expenditures to provide value to producers through a western Canadian approach to research.”

Dave and his family farm near Broadview Saskatchewan. Dave is the representative from the Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission on the WGRF Board. He is a former WGRF Vice-Chair and has been on the WGRF Board of Directors since 2002. Dave has been actively involved in producer groups for many years holding numerous positions and was recently awarded a Queens Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition of his work and contributions on behalf of the canola industry.

The Board that over-sees WGRF is comprised of 14 producers representing the crop production sector in Western Canada and one non-voting representative from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. The 2013 WGRF Board is:

Dave Sefton, WGRF Chair, Broadview, SK – Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission
Dr. Keith Degenhardt, WGRF Vice-Chair, Hughenden, AB – Wild Rose Agricultural Producers
Dr. Stephen Morgan Jones, Lethbridge, AB – Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada (non-voting)
Todd Lewis, Regina, SK – Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan
Kevin Auch, Carmangay, AB – Alberta Wheat Commission
Martin Moore, Fort St John, BC – BC Grain Producers Association
Jack Froese, Winkler, MB – Canadian Canola Growers Association
Joe Rennick, Milestone, SK – Canadian Seed Growers Association
Don Dewar, Dauphin, MB – Keystone Agricultural Producers
Bill Gehl, Regina, SK – National Farmers Union
Bob Anderson, Dugald, MB – Prairie Oat Growers Association
Mel Stickland, Red Deer, AB – Western Barley Growers Association
Gerrid Gust, Davidson, SK – Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association
D’Arcy Hilgartner, Camrose, AB – Western Pulse Growers Association
Garth Butcher, Birtle, MB – Western Winter Cereal Producers


For further information, contact:

Mike Espeseth
Communications Manager
Western Grains Research Foundation