Increased Funding Highlights WGRF AGM

“Western Grains Research Foundation experienced a tremendous amount of growth this past year,” said Dave Sefton Board Chair. “In 2014 WGRF invested over $13.3 million in variety development and field crop research. As producers we should all be very proud of this investment in the future of our industry. With a projected research budget of $18 million in 2015, WGRF will more than double the amount invested in 2013 ($7.3 Million).

“WGRF is a charitable foundation with a mission to invest in research to benefit western Canadian field crop producers,” said Garth Patterson, WGRF Executive Director. “Two very significant milestones occurred for WGRF in 2014. First, WGRF received Federal approval of new bylaws, articles and charitable status ensuring the continuance of WGRF as a charitable foundation. Secondly, investment of over $13 million made WGRF the largest producer funder of crop research in Canada. Our success in the growth of research investments is dependent on the development of effective relationships with many organizations. I would like to thank all our member organizations and research partners for their continued support.” 

Dave Sefton of Broadview Saskatchewan was re-elected as Chair of the Western Grains Research Foundation (WGRF) during its Annual Meeting on March 10th in Edmonton, Alberta. Dr. Keith Degenhardt of Hughenden, Alberta was re-elected as Vice-Chair. WGRF welcomed two new directors. Malcolm Odermatt replaced Martin Moore as the BC Grain Producers Association representative on the Board and Dale Hicks replaced Garth Butcher as the Western Winter Cereal Producers representative. Full audited financial statements will be included in the 2014 WGRF Annual Report being mailed out and posted on the WGRF website in April.

The 2015 WGRF Board of Directors are:

Dave Sefton, Chair, Broadview, SK – Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission
Dr. Keith Degenhardt, Vice-Chair, Hughenden, AB – Alberta Federation of Agriculture 
Bill Gehl, Regina, SK – Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
Bob Anderson, Dugald, MB – Prairie Oat Growers Association
D’Arcy Hilgartner, Camrose, AB – Western Pulse Growers Association
Don Dewar, Dauphin, MB – Keystone Agricultural Producers
Doyle Weibe, Langham, SK – Canadian Canola Growers Association
Dale Hicks, Outlook, SK – Western Winter Cereal Producers
Gerrid Gust, Davidson, SK – Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association
Jason Skotheim, Spruce Home, SK – Saskatchewan Barley Development Commission 
Jason Lenz – Alberta Barley Commission
Joe Rennick, Milestone, SK – Canadian Seed Growers Association
Kevin Auch, Carmangay, AB – Alberta Wheat Commission
Malcolm Odermatt, Fort St. John, BC – BC Grain Producers Association
Mel Stickland, Red Deer, AB – Western Barley Growers Association
Ray Askin, Portage, MB – Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association
Stewart Wells, Swift Current, SK -National Farmers Union
Todd Lewis, Regina, SK – Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan